@eatingrules – spot sugar by any other name – great post to share!

March 19, 2012

I am being challenged by sugar. Although I want to forgo it, it is omnipresent. How do I decipher the language that labels the food I eat so I can make smarter sugar-free choices?


Blogger Andrew Wilder (http://www.eatingrules.com/) offers some consistently great insights on his blog so I tune in. One recent post about sugar caught my eye after he returned from the Natural Products Expo West, where Andrew observed,

“in my humble opinion, about 90% of the products at the show range from neutral to downright bad for you. I’d even argue that many of them aren’t anywhere close to “natural.” In other words, there’s a lot of healthwashing going on.
“That’s not to say there aren’t fantastic companies at the show, too — there are! And if just 10% of the products at the show are indeed healthful, and are from companies that truly “walk the talk,” then there are a heck of a lot of great products out there. Indeed, I now have a huge stack of business cards from companies making truly healthful products that I’m genuinely excited about.
“The main frustration I had at the show was that it seemed like sugar was in everything….”

Click here to read the entire article:

http://www.eatingrules.com/2012/03/names-for-sugar/

Subscribe to Eating Rules today: Health and nutrition information is complicated. Eating healthfully doesn’t have to be. Where do you start? How do you eat better? How do you know that the choices you’re making are actually good for you?”

Leave a Reply

